Scottish Championships adjudicators’ remarks and results to be livestreamed

Monday 7 March 2022

There will be six live-stream broadcasts over this weekend’s Scottish Brass Band Championships in Perth.

On Saturday, these will be:

On Sunday, the following will be livestreamed:

Every contest performance will be recorded, both in multi-camera video and separate high quality multi-track audio. These will be edited after the event and each band will have the opportunity to purchase a link to a digital recording of its performance for £20.

“It has become necessary to request this nominal payment towards the not inconsiderable cost of providing this service,” explained Scottish Brass Band Association digital and social media editor James McGoldrick.

“The donations will enable the continuation, and development, of these video recordings at this and future contests, as well as ensuring they can be preserved for future enjoyment by everyone.”

As current Covid restrictions will not be lifted until 21 March by the Scottish Government, there will be a one-metre distancing requirement for players on stage and in the warm-up room at the Perth Concert Hall. However, the number of dressing rooms now being made available has been increased to three for the weekend.

The JM Ten brass ensemble will be taking to the stage before the commencement of the First Section on Saturday to provide a little light entertainment.

The group was formed in January by Nigel Durno of Just Music as a response to not only getting back to playing together after the Covid pandemic, but also performing some of the best classic ten-piece brass repertoire available.

Musical director is Craig Anderson and the members of the ensemble are: Chris Bradley, Callum Blair, Alan Friel and Sandy McGrattan (trumpets); Kenneth Blackwood and Anya Flanagan (horns); Nigel Cox, Alan Fernie, Alan Adams and Charlie Farren (trombones); Nigel Durno (tuba); and Graeme Barclay (percussion).

The Scottish Championships – which gets under way at 9.30am on Saturday with the Third Section – is the regional qualifier for the 2022 National Brass Band Championships to be held at Cheltenham Racecourse on 17/18 September and the Royal Albert Hall on 15 October.

The full line-up of participating bands is:

Championship Section – Sunday 13 March, Perth Concert Hall

Test piece: Contest Music (Wilfred Heaton)

Adjudicators: Sandy Smith and Sheona Wade

Bon-Accord Silver (Adam Cook)

Dalmellington (Erik Janssen)

Johnstone (Mark Good)

Kingdom Brass (Ian Porthouse)

Kirkintilloch Kelvin (Thomas Wyss)

Newtongrange Silver (Anne Crookston)

the cooperation band (Russell Gray)

The Kirkintilloch Band (David Roberts)

Unison Kinneil (Raymond Tennant)

Whitburn (Prof Nicholas Childs)

First Section – Saturday 12 March, Perth Concert Hall

Test piece: Spectrum (Gilbert Vinter)

Adjudicators: Sandy Smith and Sheona Wade

Annan Town (Andrew Warriner)

Bathgate (Craig Anderson)

Bo’ness & Carriden (Charlie Farren)

Coalburn Silver (Gareth Bowman)

Dalkeith & Monktonhall (James Chamberlain)

Dunaskin Doon (Paul Drury)

Granite City Brass (Bruce Wallace)

Lochgelly (Paul McKelvie OBE)

Newmains (Mike Marzella)

Newmilns & Galston (Mark James)

Second Section – Saturday 12 March, Perth Concert Hall

Test piece: The Aeronauts (Goff Richards)

Adjudicators: Sheona Wade and John Doyle

Broxburn & Livingston (Alaistair Gibson)

Campbeltown Brass (Stephanie Mitchell)

Clackmannan District (Paul Drury)

Irvine & Dreghorn (Lewis Bettles)

Jedforest Instrumental (Philip Rosier)

Perthshire Brass (George D Annan)

Renfrew Burgh (Steven Craig)

St David’s Brass (John A Dickson)

St Ronan’s Silver (Simon Railton)

Tullis Russell (Ray Munday)

Third Section – Saturday 12 March, Perth Concert Hall

Test piece: Facets of Glass (Gordon Langford)

Adjudicators: Sandy Smith and Helen Douthwaite

Arbroath (Audrey Bird)

Dysart Colliery (Kenneth Letham)

Kilmarnock Concert (Scott Walker)

Kirkton Brass Bathgate (Simon Railton)

Langholm Town (Chris Shanks)

Penicuik Silver (Douglas Anderson)

Selkirk Silver (Colin Kemp)

Shotts (Andrew Shaw)

Whitburn Heartlands (Stephen Duncan)

Fourth Section – Sunday 13 March, Perth Concert Hall

Test piece: Argos (Stephan Hodel)

Adjudicators: John Doyle and Sandy Smith

Bon-Accord B (Jennifer Cook)

Buckhaven & Methil Miners (Steven Craig)

Coalburn Intermediate (David Fehilly)

Dundee Instrumental (Bob McDonald)

Hawick Saxhorn (Stuart Black)

Inverclyde (Joshua Parkhill)

MacTaggart Scott (George Cameron)

Peebles Burgh (David Robb)

Stranraer Brass (Angela Miller)


Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: