New categories added to Brass Sounds Inverclyde slow melody contest

Thursday 30 June 2022

The annual Brass Sounds Inverclyde slow melody contest and awards evening was held last week in Greenock.

Special guests at the event were Councillor Elizabeth Robertson and adjudicators Chris Shanks (solo euphonium with Whitburn Band) and Gordon Kyle (soprano cornet with the cooperation band).

Two new classifications were introduced to the contest this year: Duets and Ensembles.

In the Solos category, which attracted an impressive 11 entries from the band – Andrea Crumlish took first place on tenor horn, playing Peter Graham’s A Time for Peace.

Solo euphonium Isaac Parkhill and EEb bass Ross Mercer won the Duets class with their rendition of The Prayer.

Whilst the adjudicators compiled their notes, the audience was entertained by Rebekah Parkhill singing Think of Me from Andrew Lloyd Webber’s The Phantom of the Opera.

Winners of the Ensembles category were Luke Parkhill (soprano), Tilly Abraham (cornet), Andrea Crumlish (horn) and Isaac Parkhill (euphonium) playing Eric Ball’s Jewels.

Before the results were revealed, band manager Wendy McCorkell announced the annual awards which were presented by Councillor Robertson:

Bandsperson of the Year – Gillian Letson

Most Improved Player – Charles Sinclair

Player of the Year – Isaac Parkhill

A special presentation was made to Alistair McCorkell snr, who was made BSI honorary president for his outstanding commitment and dedication to brass banding over 67 years.

For the full results and more photographs, BSI’s Facebook page can be viewed here.

Gillian Letson receives her Bandsperson of the Year award from Councillor Elizabeth Robertson

Charles Sinclair was BSI's Most Improved Player

Player of the Year was Isaac Parkhill

Alistair McCorkell snr was made honorary president of BSI for his outstanding commitment to the band



Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: