Host of awards for deserving players at Coalburn presentation evening

Tuesday 21 June 2022

Coalburn Silver Band’s longest serving member has been presented with a life membership medal from the Scottish Brass Band Association.

The award was handed to Gordon Miller by Coalburn president Alan Court at the Coalburn band family’s annual presentation evening earlier this month at The Fountain community centre in Lesmahagow.

Gordon joined the band in the 1970s and has been player, conductor, tutor and mentor throughout his long banding career. His award was just one of a host of presentations to members throughout the Coalburn organisation:

Bronze Band

Best Section – trombones Samuel Ramsay, Nathaniel Hadley and Joshua Glassford

Band Person of the Year – Malcolm Ormrod, Samuel Ramsay and Luke Howarth who have worked extremely hard and have been helpful at both rehearsals and engagements.

Children’s Choice Award for helping, mentoring and encouraging the children throughout the year – bass player and vice president Alan Ormrod

George Blackwood Memorial Trophy for the most improved player – Nathanael Ramsay for his commitment to band, improvement in playing and excellent behaviour at rehearsals

Coalburn Brass Beginners now boast 11 budding young musicians led by tutor Gill Howarth, all of whom received a personalised certificate and medal – Charlie Gray, Elle Gray, Aleisha Ansell, Alythia Martin-Barrera, Benjamin Callister, Noah Smith, Gabriel Hadley, Sebastian Hadley, Niamh Clarke, Caitlin Birch and Benjamin Angaletti

The Coalburn Percussion Academy has bounced back following the pandemic and now boasts a membership of eight led by their tutor Robbie Bremner. All members received a certificate and medal – Hollie Reid, Megan Cowan, William Glassford, Thomas Callister, Lincoln Martin-Barrera, Kaden Smith, Gregor Naismith and Clare Symonds

Intermediate Band

Most Improved Player – Megan Cowan who has recently joined from the Bronze Band and has shown excellent progress at rehearsals and performances.

Players’ Player of the Year – bass player Stuart Abernethy for his commitment to rehearsals and helpful manner around the band hall

Best Section – basses Cameron Raeburn and Stuart Abernethy

Player of the Year – principal tenor horn Eilidh Court (cover photo with MD David Fehilly)

Band MD David Fehilly also recognised two long serving players with awards for their contribution – Tilly Trickey and Ben Coulter

Silver Band

Best Section – trombones Anna Biggart, Marcie Boyle and Aileen Orr

Conductor's Award – Daniel Beadle, Ian Jamieson, Alan Court and Nicola Henderson for outstanding commitment resulting in excellent concert and contest performances

Band Person of the Year (winning the presidential quaich) – Daniel Beadle for his outstanding commitment to the running of the Coalburn organisation

Player of the Year – principal percussionist Jamie Millar for superb commitment to rehearsals and engagements

Special Recognition Awards were given to Ewan Grant, Calum Miller and MDs David Fehilly and Gareth Bowman for their immense contribution to the online and virtual performances throughout the period of the pandemic.

Daniel Beadle with Coalburn president Alan Court

Coalburn award winners

Jamie Miller with MD Gareth Bowman


Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: