Bands line-up announced for Whitburn Virtual Festival

Thursday 3 June 2021

Thirty-seven bands across six sections have entered the Whitburn Band Virtual Festival which will take place on the weekend of 25-27 June.

The festival will be broadcast for free on the band’s YouTube channel and will also feature Whitburn, Whitburn Heartlands and Whitburn Youth bands in concert.

The event, which will be presented by Professor Nicholas Childs, is generously supported by Creative Scotland, Besson Brass, Just Music, Band Supplies Ltd and SBBA.

The Championship section will feature Dunaskin Doon, The Kirkintilloch Band, Kinneil, and Bo'ness & Carriden. In the 1st section will be Coalburn Silver, Newmilns & Galston, Kingdom Brass, Campbeltown Brass and Johnstone.

The 2nd section will feature St. David's Brass, Broxburn & Livingston, Annan Town, Lochgelly, Selkirk Silver and Irvine & Dreghorn Brass. Whitburn Heartlands, Langholm Town and Dysart Colliery Silver bands will compete in the 3rd section. In the 4th section are Galashiels Town, Dunfermline Town, MacTaggart Scott Loanhead, Kilmarnock Concert Brass, Newland Concert Brass and Coalburn Intermediate.

The section for Youth Bands and Percussion Ensembles will feature Coalburn Bronze, Loanhead Brass Roots/Youth, St. David's Brass Youth, Irvine & Dreghorn Brass Youth, PKC Music Service Percussion Ensemble, Scottish Borders Youth, Whitburn Youth, Brass Sounds Inverclyde Youth, Stranraer Brass Youth, Abbey Brass Jedforest, Riverside Youth, Kirkintilloch Youth and Coalburn Silver Percussion Academy.

The bands are listed in the order of play.


Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: