Prestigious prizes for young musicians

Sunday 4 August 2019

The achievements of young musicians at this year's National Youth Brass Band of Scotland (NYBBS) summer course were recognised with a range of awards, presented at the end of course concerts.

Senior band - awards presented by Brett Baker and conductor emeritus Richard Evans

Tom Howden Trophy for best student . . . Storm Robertson and John Walker

Philip McCann Cornet Award . . . Callum Robb

Richards Evans Trophy . . . winner of the solo contest Robyn Anderson

Tom McCrone Trophy for best bass player . . . Gavin Johnson

Reserve band - awards presented by reserve band conductor John Boax and SBBA president Carrie Boax

Brad and Lin Catto Award for best student . . . Gregor Koziel

Stewart Watson Memorial Trophy . . . winner of the solo contest Gregor Koziel

Children's band - awards presented by children's band conductor Alan Fernie

NYBBLETS Award for best student . . . Ryan Borthwick

West of Scotland Brass Band Association Trophy . . . winner of the solo contest Charlie Boax

SBBA President's Award for best team

Awarded for best section, nominated by the conducting team, for endeavour, positive attitude, hard work and going the extra mile

Senior band . . . trombone section

Reserve band . . . bass section

Children's band . . . euphoniums and baritones

NYRBB promotions

Reserve band members promoted to senior band . . . left to right: reserve band conductor John Boax, Gregor Koziel, Caius Walker, Aileen Orr, Morgan Jones, SBBA president Carrie Boax


Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: