Super start at NYBBS

Tuesday 23 July 2019

More than 170 talented young musicians arrived at Strathallan School in Perthshire on Sunday for the start of the National Youth Brass Band of Scotland (NYBBS) summer course. 

During the week-long course the young brass players and percussionists are taking part in action-packed programme of rehearsals, concerts and social activities.

It was nervous start for some on Sunday, as each player took part in a solo auditon to determine their seating position in one of the three bands.

Once the seating auditions were complete it was time to get down to business, with just three days to prepare a programme for their first concert appearances. 

Tomorrow afternoon (Wednesday) the senior NYBBS players will perform in the heart of one of Scotland's most popular tourist destinations, as they travel to the Ross Bandstand in Edinburgh's Princes Street Gardens. 

Meanwhile, the reserve and children's bands will have a chance to take part in social activities before their concert at Forgendenny Village Hall tomorrow evening.

And all bands are working towards their end of course concerts on Saturday, which will take place at Strathallan School and Stirling's Albert Halls. 

NYBBS senior band principals (pictured with conductor emeritus Richard Evans and musical director Ian Porthouse)

Soprano - Hannah Oman
Cornet - Callum Robb
Flugal - Storm Robertson
Horn - Amy Paterson
Baritone - Carole Ednie
Euphonium - John Walker
Trombone - Robyn Anderson
Bass trombone - Owen Pickering
Eb bass - Gavin Johnson
Bb bass - Henry Kay
Percussion - Ross Manning

NYBBS reserve band principals (pictured with conductor John Boax)

Soprano - Gregor Koziel
Cornet - Catriona Hackwood
Flugal - Fraser McLachlan
Horn - Eilidh Court
Baritone - Siobhan Crumlish
Euphonium - Emily Bennie
Trombone - Caius Walker
Bass trombone - Aileen Orr
Bass - Morgan Jones
Percussion - Ronan Somerville

NYBBS childrens band principals (pictured with conductor Alan Fernie)

Soprano - Ethan Deane
Cornet - Angus Paton
Flugal - Rona Campbell
Horn - Liam Bennie
Baritone - Charlie Boax
Euphonium - Angus Ritchie
Trombone - Jamie Colville
Bass trombone - Marcella Haldane Boyle
Bass - Andrew Colville



Got a story?

Email Nigel Martin: