Line up for the Scottish Championships 9/10 March

Tuesday 19 February 2019

Line up for Scottish Championships,
incorporating the Scottish Area of the National Brass Band Championships of Great Britian.

Perth Concert Hall on the 9/10 March starting with 3rd Section on Saturday.

3rd Section – 10 bands
Pre-Drawn - Commences at 9.30 am on Saturday, March 9th
Adjudicators: Brett Baker & Leigh Baker
Test Piece: First Suite in Eb by Gustav Holst arr. Sydney Herbert
Band       Conductor
Brass Sounds Inverclyde - Robert Dibden
Buckhaven & Methil Band -  Andy Shaw
Dunfermline Town  - Michael Marzella
Dysart Colliery Band  - Kenneth Letham
Highland Brass  - Mark Bell
Irvine & Dreghorn -  Lewis Bettles
Langholm Town -  Chris Shanks
Perthshire Brass  - George D Annan
Renfrew Burgh -  Mark Good
Whitburn Heartlands  - Ian Fleming

2nd Section – 11 bands
Pre Drawn - Commences at approx. 12.45 pm. on Saturday, March 9
Adjudicators: Sheona White & Brett Baker
Test Piece: Rise of the Pheonix
Band        Conductor
Broxburn & Livingson - John Boax
Clackmannan & District -  Ross Brotherston
Coalburn Silver -  Gareth Bowman
Croy Silver - Kenneth Blackwood
Jedforest Instrumental  - Phil Rosier
Lochgelly Band  - Paul McKelvie OBE
Newmaiins & District - Michael Marzella
Selkirk Silver -  Charlie Farren
Shotts St Patrick’s -  Andy Shaw
St.David’s Brass  - John A Dickson
St.Ronan’s Silver  -  Kenneth Letham

1st Section – 10 bands
Draw 3.15 p.m. Commences at 4.45 p.m. on Saturday, March 9th
Adjudicators: Richard Evans & Sarah Groarke-Booth
Test Piece: Symphony of Marches by Gilbert Vinter
Band           Conductor
Annan Town   - Paul Drury
Arbroath Instrumental  -  Robert McDonald
Campbeltown Brass  - Paul Kiernan
Dalkeith and Monktonhall  -  James Chamberlain
Granite City Brass  - Bruce Wallace
Kingdom Brass  - Ian Porthouse
Kirkintilloch Band  - David Roberts
Newmilns & Galston Band -  Alan Cameron
Tullis Russell  - Ray Munday
Unison Kinneil  - Raymond Tennant


4th Section – 12 bands
Pre-Drawn - Commences at 9.30am on Sunday, March 10
Adjudicators: Leigh Baker & Richard Evans
Test Piece: Stantonbury Festival by Ray Steadman-Allen
Band  Conductor
Barrhead Burgh - Alistair Gibson
Bon Accord Silver ‘B’  -  Jennifer Cook
Callander Brass -  Ian Milligan
Dundee Instrumental  - Robert McDonald
Forfar Instrumental  - Terence Jackson
Hawick Saxhorn  - Stuart Black
Kilmarnock Concert Brass  -  Scott Walker
MacTaggart Scott  -  George Cameron
Newland Concert Brass  -  Simon Railton
Peebles Burgh  - Peter Holmes
Penicuik Silver  - Robert W Fraser
Stranraer Brass  - Angela Miller

Championship Section – 10 bands
Draw 12.30 p.m. Commences at 2.00 p.m. approx. on Sunday, March 10th
Adjudicators: Sheona White & Sarah Groarke-Booth
Band Conductor
Bathgate  - Paul Lovatt-Cooper
Bon Accord Silver -  Stephen Malcolm
Bo’ness & Carriden  - Lee Skipsey
The cooperation band  - Russell Gray
Dalmellington Band  - Erik Janssen
Dunaskin Doon  - Gareth Brindle
Johnstone Band  - Lynda Nicholson
Kirkintilloch Kelvin Brass - Charles Keenan
Newtongrange Silver  -  Andrew Duncan
Whitburn -  Prof Nicholas Childs

4b Section – 2 bands
Commences at 12.40 p.m. on Sunday, March 10th
Adjudicator: Anne Crookston
Bands play a 15 minute, own choice programme
Bands will receive a written adjudication and receive a visit from the adjudicator to one of their rehearsals
Band Conductor
Leadhills Band  - Alan Fernie
Coalburn Intermediate   - David Fehilly