Besson Solo and Ensemble Championships - Full Results

Monday 4 February 2019

Another successful Solo and Ensemble event took place on the weekend of 2/3 February in Howden Park Centre in Livingston.
The event was organised by Scottish Brass Band Association with Support from West Lothian Council.
The adjudicator was Sandy Smith and the Accompanist Gena Baker, also a very well presented event over the weekend 
from Damian Martin. Thanks also to Ann Murray and the team from SBBA.

Although a bit disappointed with the number of  entries in the senior event on Sunday, a very high standard of performance
wes given by all, including two excellent Percussion Groups.


Junior Ensemble

Band/School     Draw    Award   Place
Campbeltown Brass Quintet ‘A’  4 Gold 1st
Campbeltown Brass Quintet ‘B’  1 Silver 3rd
James Young High School  2 Bronze
Campbeltown Brass Quintet ‘C’  5 Gold 2nd
Argyll Brass— Leila & Findlay  3 Bronze

Junior Solos

NAME  Instrument   Band/School   Draw   Award
Skye Macara-Henderson Cornet Gala Youth band 8 Silver
Eliza Bevan Trombone Duns Primary School 9 Gold
Charlie Boax Baritone Irvine & Dreghorn 10 Gold 1st
Ryan Borthwick Tenor Horn Selkirk Silver Band 2 Bronze
Emma Brown Cornet Bathgate Youth Band 5 Silver
Gerard McGuigan Bathgate Youth Band 3 Bromze
Adam Maylin Cornet Dunfermline Town Band 6 Silver
Jamie Colville Trombone Campbeltown 4 Gold 3rd
Andrew Colville Eb Bass Campbeltown 1 Gold 2nd
Hannah McCaig Cornet Campbeltown 7 Bronze

Intermediate Ensemble

Band/School   Draw   Award   Place
St.Ronan’s Silver Band 5 Gold 1st

Peebles Burgh Youth Band 3 Bronze
James Young High School 2 Bronze
Campbeltown Brass ‘A’ 1 Gold 2nd
Atgyll Brass 4 Silver
Stranraer Brass 6 Silver 3rd

Intermediate Solos

Name   Instrument    Band/School   Draw    Award
Callum Robb Cornet St.Ronan’s Silver Band 16 Gold 2nd
Thomas Brydon Euphonium St.Ronan’s Silver Band 4 Silver
Ally Norman Tenor Horn St.Ronan’s Silver Band 15 Silver
Sam Duzinkewycz Tenor Horn Tullis Russell Band 3 Bronze
Morgan Cooper Cornet Dunfermline Town 12 Brown
Holy Bennett Baritone Carnoustie High School 5 Silver
Gavin Lee Cornet Carnoustie High School 1 Bronze
Lucy Crabb Tennor Horn Brechin City Band 8 Gold
Thomas Kobine Tenor Horn Arbroath Instrumental 7 Gold 3rd
Andrew McMillan Tenor Horn Campbeltown Brass 11 Gold
Amy Paterson Tenor Horn Campbeltown Brass 6 Gold 1st
Mark Gammon Bass Trombone Riverside Youth 2 Bronze
Joshua Howieson Cornet James Young High 9 Silver
Andrew Wilson Bass St,Ronan’s Silver Band 14 Silver
Kyle Paterson Euphonium Campbelton 13 Bronze

Youth Ensemble

Youth Ensemble    Draw   Points   Award
Campbelrown Brass Quartet 2 91 1st
James Young High School 1 90 2nd

Youth Solos

Name    Instrument    Band/School   Draw   Points   Place
Michael Harrison Trombone James Young High 4 85 3rd
Gavin Johnston Eb Bass Co-op Funeralcare 1 91 1st
Owen Pickering Bass Trombone Kirkintilloch 3 88 2nd
Laura Carter Eb Bass Bon-Accord B 2 83 4th

 Open Percussion Section

Group                                    Draw    Points   Award
Deans Community High School Ensemble 2 93 1st
James Young High School Ensemble 1 91 2

Open Ensemble

 St Ronan’s Silver Band   94 points and winner

Open Slow Melody

Name    Instrument  Draw   Points   Place
Calum Robb Cornet 3 95 1st
Laura Carter Eb Bass 4 91
Gavin Johnston Eb Bass 5 94 2nd
Sam Duzinkewycz Tenor Horn 6 92
Carole Ednie Baritone 1 91
John Walker Euphonium 2 93 3rd

Open Solo Contest

 Name     Instrument    Draw   Points  Place
Calum Robb Cornet 1 91 1st
Gavin Johnston Eb Bass 2 90 2nd
Carole Ednie Baritone 4 86 4
Sam Duzinkewycz Tenor Horn 3 88 3rd

 Overall Individual Awards

Philip McCann award for Best Cornet - Calum Robb
Bram Thomson Award for Best Horn - Sam Duzinkewycz
James Gourlay Award for Best Bass - Gavin Johnston
John Stark Award for Best Euphonium - John Walker
Best Baritone Award  -  Carole Ednie