RESULTS Besson Solo and Ensembles 3rd/4th February

Sunday 4 February 2018

 RESULTS, Besson Solo and Ensemble  Champioships,
Inveralmond School, Livingston 3rd & 4th February 2018
Junior Solos ( 12 and Under) The Kirkintilloch Band Trophy 
Adjudicator Bryan Allan

Accompanist: Gina Baker

NAME     Instrument Band/School    Draw     Award
Elizabeth Bevan Trombone Dunns Primary 9 GOLD
Rachel Wemyss Cornet Kelso High School 7 BRONZE
William Scott Tenor Horn Selkirk Juniors 12 GOLD
Thomas Kobine Tenor Horn Arbroath Instrumental 13 GOLD 1st
Elita McFarlane Trombone Monikie Primary 10 GOLD 3rd
Kyle Paterson Euphonium Campbeltown Brass 1 GOLD
Jamie Colville Trombone Campbeltown Brass 15 GOLD 2nd
Scott Oman Eb Bass Campbeltown Brass 3 SILVER
Charlie Boax Baritone Irvine & Dreghorn 14 GOLD
Erin McKinley Tenor Horn St.Margaret’s Academy 4 GOLD
Sally Calder Baritone St.Margaret’s Academy 6 SILVER
Emma Brown Cornet Bathgate Youth Band 5 GOLD
Gerard McGuigan Baritone Bathgate Youth Band 2 SILVER
Adam Mayline Dunfermline Town 8 BRONZE
Evie Renwick Gala Junior Band 11 BRONZE

Thomas Kobine winner of Junior Solos with Adjudicator Bryan Allen & Tim Barrett from BESSON

Junior Ensembles The Kinneil Band Trophy                                                                            

Band/School   Draw   Award
St.Ronan’s Future Band 4 SILVER
Galashiels Junior Band W/D W/D
Campbeltown Junior ‘A’ 2 GOLD  1st
Argyll Brass Roots ‘A’ 3 GOLD  2nd
Argyll Brass Roots ‘B’ W/D W/D
Cambeltown Junior ‘B’ W/D W/D
James Young High School 1 GOLD  3rd

Campbeltown Junior 'A' Winner Junior Ensemble

Intermediate Ensembles  The Bo’ness & Carriden Band Trophy

 Band/School     Draw     Award    Place
St.Ronan’s Silver Band ‘A’ 6 GOLD 1st
St.Ronan’s Silver Band ‘B’ 1 SILVER
Peebles Silver Band 7 SILVER
Cambeltown Brass Interm.’A’ 8 GOLD 2nd
Dalmellinton Junior Quartet 3 GOLD
Canpbeltown Brass interm.’B’ 2 GOLD
Argyll Brass W/D W/D
James Young High School ’A’ 5 GOLD
James Young High School ‘B’ 4 GOLD 3rd

St.Ronan's Silver Band 'A' Winner Intermediate Ensembles

Intermediate Solos  The Whitburn Band Trophy                                                              

Accompanist Gina Baker

Name   Instrument Band/School    Draw    Award
Callum Robb Cornet St.Ronan’s Silver Band 11 GOLD 3rd
Thomas Brydon Euphonium St.Ronan’s Silver Band 7 GOLD
Ally Norman Tenor Horn St.Ronan’s Silver Band 5 SILVER
Holly Bennett Baritone Arbroath Instrumental 4 GOLD
Lucy Crabb Tenor Horn Brechin City Band 2 GOLD 1st
Iona McFarlane Cornet Carnoustie High 1 GOLD
Gavin Lee Cornet Carnoustie High School 3 SILVER
Mark Gammon Bass Trombone Riverside Youth Band 8 SILVER
Andrew McMillan Tenor Horn Campbeltown Brass 12 GOLD
Amy Paterson Tenor Horn Campbeltown Brass 6 GOLD 2nd
Murial Anderson Cornet Caldervale High School W/D
Louise Freeborn Baritone James Young High 9 SILVER
Michael Harrison Trombone James Young High 13 SILVER
Callum Anderson Cornet St.Ronan’s Silver Band 10 SILVER

Lucy Crabb Winner Intermediate Solos

Youth Solos(17-21) The Scottish Co-op Band Trophy  

Accompanist: Gina Baker
Name   Instrument    Band/School   Draw  Points   Place

Rhegan Fraser Tenor Horn Bon Accord ‘B’ Band 3 80
Fraser Waddell Trombone Granite City Brass 6 77
Gavin Johnson Eb Bass Kirkintilloch 4 86 1st
Olivia McCutcheon Euphonium Dalmellington 1 78
Owen Pickering Bass Trombone Kirkintilloch 2 85 2nd
Kirsten Souter Cornet Campbeltown Brass W/D
Leighton Griffin Euphonium Newtongrange Silver 7 82 3rd
Robb Calder Baritone St.Margaret’s 5 79

Gavin Johnston Winner Youth Solos and James Gourley trophy for Best Bass in Open Solo

Youth Ensembles The Clydebank Burgh Band Trophy

Youth Ensemble   Draw   Points   Award
Campbelrown Brass Quartet 2 86 2ND
Gavin Johnson & Owen Pickering 1 88 1st

Open Slow Melody The Archie Hutchison Trophy  

Name  Instrument  Draw  Points  Place
Elaine Smith Cornet 10 83
Rhegan Fraser Tenor Horn 11 86
Rachel Neil Tenor Horn 5 91 2nd
Carole Ednie Baritone 9 83
Gavin Johnson Eb Bass 1 85
Ralf Riddiough  Trombone 3 84
Callum Robb Cornet 6 87
Leighton Griffin Euphonium 8 83
Ian Fleming  Tenor Horn 4 92 1st
Ally Hall Tenor Horn 7 90 3rd
John Walker Euphonium 2 83

Ian Fleming Winner Slow Melody

Open Solos

The Robert Smith Memorial  Trophy
The James Abbott Trophy

Accompanist: Gina Baker
djudicator Bryan Allen

Open Solo    Instrument   Draw   Points   Award
Rhegan Fraser Tenor Horn 6 82  
Ralph Riddiough 1 83
Callum Robb Cornet 4 84
Elaine Smith Cornet 3 85  
Rachel Neil Tenor Horn 5 92 1st
Gavin Johnson Eb Bass 2 86 3rd
Leighton Griffin Euphonium 8 83
 Ian Fleming  Tenor Horn 7 91 2nd

Rachel Neil Winner Open Solo

Open Ensembles The Tennant Trophy 

Only one entry Newmains and District

All winning ensembles over the weekend recieved and Instrument Voucher from BESSON

Newmains & District winner of the Open Ensemble

Individual instrument awards 

Philip McCann Award—Best Cornet  Callum Robb

George Gilmour Award—Best Trombone  Ralph Riddiough

Bram Thomson Award—Best Horn Rachel Neil & Iain Fleming 

James Gourlay Award—Best Bass  Gavin Johnston

John Stark Award—Best Euphonium  Leighton Griffin

David Young Award—Best over 40 soloist  Iain Fleming

Best Baritone Award  Carole Ednie

Rachel Neil & Iain Fleming were award joint
Champion of Champions by Adjudicator Bryan Allen  (Iain was not available for Photograph)


 Rachel Neil with her awards - Congratulations  to all who attended